IEEE and MTT-S Awards

Institute Awards

IEEE Medals The IEEE Awards Board encourages you to submit nominations for outstanding candidates. Nomination deadline: July 31.
IEEE Field Awards The Technical Field Awards Council urges you to submit nominations for outstanding candidates. Nomination deadline: January 31.
IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award was established in 2001 to recognize outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications.

IEEE Fellow Recognition of the engineering/scientific, leadership, and educational achievements of its members is a major goal of the Institute. The Fellow Committee appreciates your efforts in the preparation of these important nominations. Nomination deadline: March 1.

MTT-S Technical Awards (Nomination deadline: August 1)

Recognizes an individual of national and international prominence, who has performed outstanding service to the profession and the Society, whose contributions, technical or otherwise, have made an important impact in the field of interest of the Society, who has been an elected member of the Administrative Committee, an MTT-S member for at least 10 years, and has been elected IEEE Fellow. Furthermore, this award carries the expectation that the candidate will continue to contribute to the Society and participate in its activities as an individual contributor, an advisor, and/or by serving on Society AdHoc and Standing Committees.

Microwave Career Award

Recognizes an individual (IEEE member) for career of meritorious achievement and outstanding technical contribution in the field of microwave theory and techniques.

Distinguished Educator Award

Recognizes a distinguished educator (IEEE MTT-S member) in the field of microwave engineering and science who best exemplifies the special human qualities of Fred Rosenbaum, who considered teaching a high calling and demonstrated his dedication to the Society through tireless service.

Microwave Pioneer Award

Recognizes an individual or a team not exceeding three persons having made outstanding pioneering technical contributions that advance microwave theory and techniques, which are described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award.

Microwave Application Award

Recognizes an individual or a team for an outstanding application of microwave theory and techniques, which has been reduced to practice nominally 10 years before the award.

Outstanding Young Engineer

Recognizes an outstanding young MTT-S Member, who has distinguished him/herself through achievement(s), which may be technical (within the MTT-S Field of Interest), may be exemplary service to the MTT-S, or may be a combination of both. Nominee must be no more than 38 years of age and an MTT member at time of nomination.

The Microwave Prize

Recognizes the author(s) of the paper, published in any official IEEE publication during the prior calendar year but historically selected from the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, that is judged to be the most significant contribution in the field of interest of the MTT Society.

Terahertz Best Paper Award The Terahertz Best Paper award is given annually to the authors of an article that has appeared in the IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology during the prior calendar year.
Tatsuo Itoh Award The Tatsou Itoh Award is given annually to the best paper published in the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters in the previous calender year.
Microwave Magazine Best Paper Award

Recognizes the peer-reviewed technical feature from the prior calendar year that is judged to provide a clear overview of the state of the art in a given area of the MTT Society’s field of interest.

MTT-S Service Awards (Nomination deadline: August 1)

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes an individual (IEEE MTT-S member) who has given outstanding service for the benefit and advancement of the Microwave Theory and Techniques Society.

N. Walter Cox Award

Recognizes an individual (IEEE MTT-S member) who has given exemplary service to the Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation.

Back to Top