The Microwave Prize

Award and Nomination Description


The Microwave Prize is the oldest award granted by the Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, dating back to 1955. The Microwave Prize recognizes the author(s) of the paper, published in any official IEEE publication during the calendar year but historically selected from the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, that is judged to be the most significant contribution in the field of interest of the MTT Society.


US$1,500 and Plaque.  If the paper has more than one author, a certificate will be presented to each author and the cash sum of $750 will be presented to each up to a total of $3750.


Papers of any IEEE publication published during the calendar year preceeding that of the year of deliberation are eligible for consideration.

Basis for Judging

A separate Committee on the Microwave Prize, working with inputs from reviewers and editors for the MTT-S archival journals, select the candidate paper.


Presented at the annual IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium Awards Banquet.

Previous Microwave Prize Recipients

All previous Microwave Prize Award recipients are listed at the Past Awardees: Microwave Prize

IEEE/MTT-S Awards: Important Information for nominators

IEEE Policy 4.4 (Limitations of Awards) states the following:

"No person shall receive an award, or be the nominator or reference for a nomination for a candidate for an award, who, at any stage of the recipient-selection process for that award, is eligible to vote on who shall receive that award.  This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units."

With reference to the MTT-Society, this Policy affects Members of the MTT-S Awards Committee*, and voting members of the MTT Administrative Committee**.


Back to Top